Ruth Berhe Biography

Ruth Berhe, also known as Ruth B, is a rising star in the Canadian music industry. Her hit single ‘Lost Boy’ took the music world by storm, and her debut album ‘Safe Haven’ exceeded all expectations. With her heartfelt and personal songwriting, Ruth has gained recognition and praise from industry experts. Starting her career on Vine, she quickly gained popularity and caught the attention of major label Columbia. With a Juno Award and a BMI Pop Award under her belt, Ruth’s talent and dedication are undeniable. Collaborating with Grammy-winning producer Joel Little, she released her first full-length album in 2017. Ruth B is definitely an artist to keep an eye on.

Quick Facts

  • Age: 28 Years, 28 Year Old Females
  • Pop Singers
  • Canadian Women
  • Height: 5’6″ (168 cm), 5’6″ Females
  • City: Edmonton, Canada
  • Education: Ross Sheppard High School, MacEwan University


Ruth Berhe began her career by posting her first video clip on Vine in May 2013. The positive response she received encouraged her to continue making short singing Vines with covers of popular songs, which helped her gain a good fan following. In November of the following year, she posted a Vine in which she sang a line inspired by the television series ‘Once Upon a Time’. To her surprise, the clip received an overwhelming response, garnering about 84,000 likes within a week. Encouraged by her followers, she decided to make a full song, which became ‘Lost Boy’. After its popularity on Vine, she posted it on YouTube in January 2015 and released it on iTunes in February 2015.

With her increasing popularity on Vine, YouTube, and other social media platforms, Ruth caught the attention of record labels and eventually signed with Columbia Records in July 2015. Her debut EP, ‘The Intro’, was released in November 2015 and included four songs, including ‘Lost Boy’. In 2016, she performed ‘Lost Boy’ on the morning television show ‘Today’.

In 2016, Ruth began working with Joel Little, a New Zealand producer, on her first full-length album. She had been writing songs for a long time, so she had a number of songs ready before the production of the album started. The album, titled ‘Safe Haven’, was co-produced by Joel Little, Mike Elizondo, and Ruth Berhe, and was released in May 2017. It received positive reviews and was certified gold by Music Canada. Two songs from ‘The Intro’—‘Lost Boy’ and ‘Superficial Love’—were also included in the album.

Ruth’s talent and success were recognized at the 2017 Juno Awards, where she won the Breakthrough Artist of the Year award. In 2018, she was nominated for three Juno Awards—Artist of the Year, Album of the Year, and Pop Album of the Year. Her song ‘Shadows’ has been featured in the Netflix series ‘Dear White People’, season two.

Personal Life

Ruth Berhe was born on July 2, 1995, in Edmonton, Alberta. Her parents emigrated from Ethiopia in the 1980s. As a self-described “introvert,” she worked part-time at a local Reitman clothing store during her teenage years. It was during this time that she started posting video clips on Vine, as it was easy to upload short clips on the platform.

After graduating from Ross Sheppard High School in 2013, Ruth briefly attended MacEwan University but dropped out to pursue a career in music. As her fame on Vine grew with the popularity of ‘Lost Boy’, she also became more recognized in high school and was known as the “Vine Chick”.

Leave a Comment